Breaking Up is Hard to Do

Kicking someone to the curb is never fun. There is just no good way to go about it. You don’t wanna be the bad guy, but you’ve come to grips with the fact that the relationship is headed to hell.  When you try to be nice and mature about it, the situation backfires and you eventually end up with a stalker. Your intentions are to be nice, but that only steers you into the “let’s just be friends” category that often leads to amicable conversations, which in turn cause the other person to believe your disdain for them has changed–and it hasn’t.  Just as so, being mean and childish about a break-up gets you nowhere either. Your daily routine of ignoring their calls or having your co-workers lie for you can potentially lead to a stalker as well. Technology doesn’t make it any easier. Imagine dissuading yourself from using the IM out of fear that you-know-who will give you the usual “Hey”, or the ever so lame “W’sup. Where you been hiding?” 

Face it, lust (distant cousin to love) makes people crazy and irrational. Why do these equations make sense to a person who won’t let go:

  1. she never calls + she never returns my calls = Maybe she’s just busy. 
  2. she’s not answering the door + I can see her car in the driveway + I see her peaking out the window = I’ll just wait on her porch.
  3. she told me she wasn’t feeling me anymore + she’s dating other people = I still have a chance.

Crazy, huh?

When I was younger, I always wanted my mate to be crazy, head-over-heels in love with me. Not anymore. Crazy in love is great during the good times, but hell when you’re trying to shoot someone the dueces. Now this doesn’t mean I have a penchant for assholes, but I don’t have time to deal with anyone’s abandoment issues.  

Sincerely, ty!

P.S.  Assholes need love too!

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Breaking Up is Hard to Do

  1. Shelia says:

    You definately don’t want anybody to be crazy in love.

    I recall having to make it seem like it was this guy’s idea to break up with me. The fact that he always wanted to be around me was cute at first but when I started spending time with friends, he became controlling so that’s why I was like–I got to get out of this. I knew if I would have broken up with him, it would be hard to get rid of him. Even after I did everything I could to get him to break up with me; he then changed his mind and wanted to work things out. Fortunately, after I threatened to call the cops and his boss–he stopped the harassing phone calls and unwanted visits to my house at odd times of the night.

Leave a Reply

