Good Black Don’t Crack

Tyrone Biggums

“You know he smokin’ that stuff.”

This is a phrase that I have often heard whispered with seriousness by my parents, aunts, uncles–basically anyone 40 and up. I didn’t understand the significance of the phrase until a few months ago. The first conversation was between my mother and I. She’d been losing a lot of weight recently due to a healthy diet and exercise, and I was very proud of her. Being the asshole that I am, instead of congratulating her with praise I decided to make a joke: “Hey Mom. You lookin’ good. You not smokin’ that stuff are you?” The look she gave me took me back to 1997 when she jacked me up on the kitchen counter. That was one of the two times my mother ever got physical with me. I was so amazed by her quick ability to both jack me up by the collar and elevate me off the floor. Let’s just say, I’d never wanna cross her in a dark alley. Anyway, after the look everything went south, and I basically ended up in tears apologizing.

 The next instance of me using the wrong choice of words was with my father. He too had lost a little weight. I’m still not sure how that happened because his daily diet consists of frozen pizzas, Bluebell Cookies and Cream ice cream, lunchmeat, and canned stew. Doesn’t sound like a healthly selection to me. Nevertheless, he lost a few pounds and asked if I could send a few of his pants to the tailor for adjustments in the waist. Okay, so when he tried on his newly altered pants, he came to me talking about (slightly bragging) that his pants were still a little big. My response, “Well dad, if you stop smokin’ that stuff, then you might be able to fit in your clothes.”  Then to make matters worse, I added, “You gonna start lookin’ like a crackhead soon.” Why did I have to say that? There were no flashbacks of violence involved, but he gave me “the look” too. From there he went off in a tangent about why drug addiction is a serious matter that shouldn’t be dealt with lightly. He also questioned my use of “crackhead” and wondered why I would say such a thing in reference to his weight. If you’re familiar with the relationship between my father and I, you know that I was thoroughly bored with the conversation and did everything to make him SHUT THE HELL UP feel that I had learned my lesson. Love ya Dad!

Was it me, or just my parents? I felt really bad for, in a slight way, calling my parents crackheads. My generation uses the term so loosely, so I figured they knew I was just joking. I thought about it for a while and realized that back in the day there weren’t a fleet of crackheads on every corner. These crackheads we have today are most likely people around my parents age, or slightly younger, that just got caught up. Question: How are these crackheads still alive? I’m convinced that crack has given a small amount of crackheads super powers. How the hell else are they still living? You never hear about them dying of anything other than an overdose or gettin’ shot or something like that. What’s going on with that?

Sincerely, ty

P.S. I love my parents.

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Good Black Don’t Crack

  1. Eb says:

    Hilarious spot you got here!

Leave a Reply

