Top 5 Reasons Why Jesus Was the Highlight of Easter 2012

Hello, Readers:

Easter Sunday just isn’t what it used to be. It’s actually probably the same, but I’m just not involved in all of pageantry any longer. I guess that’s what being an adult is all about – reality and accepting things for what they really are instead of what they should be. Easter 2012 was one of those moments for me.

As I walked into church (eventually), I realized that Jesus was going to be the peak of the day, the tip of the top, the ultimate, and nothing else would even come in at a close second. Not even if Marc Jacobs showed up at church with a seat reserved for me and informed me that he, the Prince of Fashion, wanted to be my BFF for life. Not even if the Easter Bunny greeted me with a basket filled with a Kettle One martini and Harry Winston’s New York Collection. So here are the Top 5 Reasons why Jesus was the highlight of Easter 2012.

Reason #5I didn’t want to go through the whole hair, makeup and wardrobe rigamarole. I know I should be excited to present myself before the Lord, but I feel like all I ever do is prepare to get somewhere and drive to get somewhere. I’ll never be satisfied until I have a full-time staff for hair, makeup and driver. Wish me luck on that. As I sat in bed reading my Twitter feeds, Chef Roble’s tweet, “You betta wake up for Jesus” actually gave me a little push.

Reason #4 – It was cold. I thought I could trick the sun into coming out by wearing a yellow dress. It didn’t work. I was pretty much the brightest thing outstide until about 1:30 that afternoon.

Rease #3 – Traffic. Easter Sunday is a standard backslider holiday. For all reasons, it should be. Above all, it’s the most important Sunday of all time. Because of the vast amount of backsliders present, traffic to and from church added an extra 40 minutes onto my normal travel time. It took me 25 minutes just to get into the church parking lot and 15 minutes to get out.

Reason #4 – Lackluster Litter Girls – no frills, no lace, no over-the-top ruffles, and most of all, no white stockings. What are the mothers of today doing? For me, Easter was THE HOLIDAY, second only to my birthday! Many of you might have heard my Easter story. Easter Sunday 1984 was when I first made my debut onto the fashion scene. My mother had me looking lovely. Hat, two-layers of ruffles and gloves. Yes, gloves! But here’s the deal, I was such a fashionable little lady, I took it upon myself to wear only one glove like Michael Jackson. That was my shining moment. That is, until my mother quickly shot it down, and hence the world never got a chance to see my fashion triumph.

Reason #2 – BUGS. It’s Spring! Flowers are blooming and bugs are buzzing. In particular, the bugs are buzzing in my hairs and curly hair don’t mix. You can whisk away a bug from a straight style, but not with what I have going on. It takes tools! Walking from my car through the church parking lot, I was violated by two different bugs of two different species (I’m assuming). One was green and the other was yellow. Why are there so many different types of bugs?!?!? Isn’t one bug type enough? Bugs always aim for my hair. I managed to swat the green bug away, but the yellow bug walked into church with me. I’m guessing he made his way out eventually.

Reason #1 – THE ULTIMATE GIFT. JOHN 3:16 For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believes in him should not perish, but have everlasting life. What better gift than for someone to give their life for you. The burn in hell forever option just isn’t going to work for me. Good thing I’ve made the right choice.

Overall, the bugs, the cold, the lackluster little girls fashion made Easter 2012 memorable. I’m so happy I had a chance to appreciate the day as well. Enjoy.

Sincerely, Ty

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

